How small is the smallest island in Indonesia?

How many small islands are there in Indonesia?

Geography of Indonesia

Indonesia is the largest archipelago in the world. It consists of five major islands and about 30 smaller groups. There are total number of 17,508 islands of which about 6000 are inhabited.

What are the 5 islands of Indonesia?

It comprises five main islands: Sumatra, Java, Borneo (known as Kalimantan in Indonesia), Sulawesi, and New Guinea; two major island groups (Nusa Tenggara and the Maluku Islands) and sixty smaller island groups.

Is Sumatra the biggest island in Indonesia?

The mountainous terrain of Indonesia’s Sumatra island. Indonesia is the biggest archipelagic (consisting of a chain of islands) country in the world.

The Biggest Islands Of Indonesia.

Rank Island Area
2 Borneo (shared with Brunei and Malaysia) 288,869 square miles
3 Sumatra 184,954 square miles

Which are the small islands found in Indonesia?

Roughly there are 3 categories of island sizes found in Indonesia, namely: a) main islands (the Greater Sunda islands) of Kalimantan (53, 583,400 ha), Irian Jaya (41,480,000 ha, on New Guinea), Sumatra (47,530,900 ha), Sulawesi (18,614,500 ha), and Java (13,257,100 ha); b) much smaller islands of Nusa Tenggara (the

What 6 countries make up Indonesia?

The country’s capital, Jakarta, is the world’s second-most populous urban area. Indonesia shares land borders with Papua New Guinea, East Timor, and the eastern part of Malaysia.


THIS IS FUNNING:  How much money do I need for a week in Malaysia?
Republic of Indonesia Republik Indonesia (Indonesian)
Show globe Show map of ASEAN Show all
Capital and largest city Jakarta 6°10′S 106°49′E

What are the 5 super priority tourism destinations in Indonesia?

The Ministry of Tourism and Creative Economy of the Republic of Indonesia has officially put five destinations as priority destinations for Indonesia’s tourism. These stunning destinations are Lake Toba, Borobudur, Mandalika, Labuan Bajo and Likupang.