How did Spaniards conquer the Philippines?

How did the Spanish conquer the Philippines?

Spanish colonialism began with the arrival of Miguel López de Legazpi’s expedition on February 13, 1565, from Mexico. He established the first permanent settlement in Cebu. … Spanish rule ended in 1898 with Spain’s defeat in the Spanish–American War. The Philippines then became a territory of the United States.

How long was the Philippines conquered by Spain?

Philippines Under Spanish Rule, 1571-1898.

How did the Philippines gain independence?

During the Spanish-American War, Filipino rebels led by Emilio Aguinaldo proclaim the independence of the Philippines after 300 years of Spanish rule. … Revolts broke out across Luzon, and in March 1897, 28-year-old Emilio Aguinaldo became leader of the rebellion.

Why the Spaniards conquered the Philippines in 15th century?

Spain had three objectives in its policy toward the Philippines, its only colony in Asia: to acquire a share in the spice trade, to develop contacts with China and Japan in order to further Christian missionary efforts there, and to convert the Filipinos to Christianity.

Who are the leaders in Spain?

Prime Ministers of Spain since the Spanish transition to democracy

Prime Minister Party Term of office
José Luis Rodríguez Zapatero Spanish Socialist Workers’ Party (PSOE) 21 December 2011
Mariano Rajoy People’s Party (PP) 1 June 2018
Pedro Sánchez Spanish Socialist Workers’ Party (PSOE) Present
THIS IS FUNNING:  Quick Answer: Can Thai people fight?