Is Kuala Lumpur part of Thailand?

Where is Malaysia in relation to Thailand?

Geographically, Malaysia is divided by the South China Sea into two regions – Peninsular Malaysia or West Malaysia bordered by Thailand on the North and Malaysian Borneo or East Malaysia located on the northern part of the island of Borneo in the South China Sea.

What countries make up Malaysia?

listen) mə-LAY-zee-ə, -⁠zhə; Malay: [məlejsiə]) is a country in Southeast Asia. The federal constitutional monarchy consists of thirteen states and three federal territories, separated by the South China Sea into two regions, Peninsular Malaysia and Borneo’s East Malaysia.

Internet TLD .my

Why is Malaysia divided?

The separation was the result of deep political and economic differences between the ruling parties of Singapore and Malaysia, which created communal tensions that resulted in racial riots in July and September 1964. … Singapore’s union with Malaysia had lasted for less than 23 months.

What are the 14 states in Malaysia?


State Capital FIPS
Sabah Kota Kinabalu MY16
Sarawak Kuching MY11
Selangor Shah Alam MY12
Terengganu Kuala Terengganu MY13

Is Selangor a state or city?

However, there are also highly urbanised and populated areas that do not have city status but are sometimes colloquially also referred to as cities.

Cities of Malaysia.

Name Petaling Jaya
State/FT Selangor
Local government(s) Petaling Jaya City Council
Chartered 20 June 2006
Population (2010 Census) 613,977
THIS IS FUNNING:  Why is Indonesia internet so slow?

What are the 13 states of Malaysia?

Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Pahang, Perak, Selangor, and Terengganu have sultans, while Perlis has a raja (“king”), and Negeri Sembilan is ruled by the Yang di-Pertuan Besar (“chief ruler”).