Question: What is the difference between the name South China Sea and the West Philippine Sea?

Does China have the right to claim the West Philippine Sea?

Rather, China claims sovereign rights and jurisdiction over the “relevant” waters, as well as the seabed and sub-soil thereof, within the ‘nine-dash line’ in general terms that are in line with the maritime zones anticipated by the Law of the Sea Convention.

Who does South China Sea belong to?

The nine-dash line area claimed by the Republic of China (1912–1949), later the People’s Republic of China (PRC), which covers most of the South China Sea and overlaps with the exclusive economic zone claims of Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Taiwan, and Vietnam.

Does China has the right to sovereignty claim over the whole South China Sea?

China is undeniably a continental country, but nevertheless, it drew straight baselines around the Paracel Islands and claimed the waters between the islands to be internal waters.

How China is bending. the rules in the. South China Sea.

China International law, norms
Can regulate military activity within EEZ. Can only regulate economic activity there.

What does international law say and China say towards West Philippine Sea disputes?

The world must explain to the Chinese people that the 9-dashed line claim is contrary to international law. … The Rule of Law in the West Philippine Sea dispute is UNCLOS. All the claimant states to the dispute are parties to UNCLOS and are bound to comply with their treaty obligations under UNCLOS in good faith.

THIS IS FUNNING:  When was opera introduced in the Philippines?

When did the East China Sea dispute start?

China began to assert its claims in the 1970s after the discovery of oil reserves, basing its position on a “historic rights” argument. Its protests of Japanese occupation of Senkaku/Diaoyu escalated after Tokyo nationalized the islands in 2012.

Who owns West Philippine Sea?

29.) West Philippine Sea is the official designation by the Philippine government of eastern parts of the South China Sea which are included in the Philippines’ exclusive economic zone.