Who won the first ever presidential election in the Philippines?

Who is the first re elected president of the Philippines?

Under the provisions of the amended 1935 document, only presidents Manuel L. Quezon (1941) and Ferdinand E. Marcos (1969) were re-elected.

Who won the election in Philippines?

2016 Philippine presidential election

Candidate Rodrigo Duterte Mar Roxas
Party PDP–Laban Liberal
Running mate Alan Peter Cayetano Leni Robredo
Popular vote 16,601,997 9,978,175
Percentage 39.01% 23.45%

Who won the first national presidential election after the 1935 Constitution was established?

This was the fourth election since the enactment of the Tydings–McDuffie Act, a law that paved the way for a transitory government, as well as the first nationwide at-large election ever held in the Philippines. Senate President Manuel Luis Quezon won a lopsided victory against former President Emilio Aguinaldo.

Who is the first president of the Philippines Bonifacio or Aguinaldo?

Along with Bonifacio, Malvar and Sakay are not recognized as presidents by the Philippine government. Emilio Aguinaldo is officially recognized as the first president of the Philippines, but this is based on his term of office during the Malolos Republic, later known as the First Philippine Republic.

THIS IS FUNNING:  Frequent question: Can I drink alcohol in Indonesia?

Is Emilio Aguinaldo the first president?

On January 23, 1899, two months before turning 30, Aguinaldo was proclaimed the first president of the Republic of the Philippines, and he convened the Philippine Congress which ratified the country’s Constitution. … He was executed by the revolutionary government under Emilio Aguinaldo.

When was the last election in Philippines?

The 2019 Philippine general election was conducted on May 13, 2019.

Is Ferdinand Marcos a dictator?

He ruled as a dictator under martial law from 1972 until 1981 and kept most of his martial law powers until he was deposed in 1986, branding his rule as “constitutional authoritarianism” under his New Society Movement.

Who won the 1935 election?

The 1935 Canadian federal election was held on October 14, 1935. to elect members of the House of Commons of Canada of the 18th Parliament of Canada. The Liberal Party of William Lyon Mackenzie King won a majority government, defeating Prime Minister R. B. Bennett’s Conservatives.

What happened in 1935 in the Philippines?

In 1935 Quezon won the Philippines’ first national presidential election under the banner of the Nacionalista Party. … When Manuel L. Quezon was inaugurated President of the Philippines in 1935, he became the first Filipino to head a government of the Philippines since Emilio Aguinaldo and the Malolos Republic in 1898.

Who was the president of the Philippine Republic during 1934 Constitutional Convention?


Position Name
President Claro M. Recto
1st Vice-President Ruperto Montinola
2nd Vice-President Teodoro Sandiko
Secretary Narciso Pimentel