Why is Malaysia divided into two parts?

What separates the two halves of Malaysia?

The two distinct parts of Malaysia, separated from each other by the South China Sea, share a largely similar landscape in that both West (Peninsular) and East Malaysia feature coastal plains rising to hills and mountains.

What are the two parts of Malaysia?

Did you know that Malaysia consists of two parts? The two regions are called East Malaysia and West (or peninsular) Malaysia and they are actually about 400 miles (640 km) apart. East Malaysia is made up of the two largest states, Sabah and Sarawak. They are located on the popular island of Borneo.

Is Sabah and Sarawak part of Malaysia?

East Malaysia (Malay: Malaysia Timur), also known as Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan (Malay: Sabah, Sarawak dan Labuan) or Malaysian Borneo, is the part of Malaysia on and near the island of Borneo, the world’s third largest island.

What body of water separates Borneo and Singapore?

The body of water that separates the two parts is the South China Sea.

Where is West Malaysia and East Malaysia?

Peninsular Malaysia, Malaysian Semenanjung Malaysia, also called West Malaysia or Malaysian Malaysia Barat, region of the 13-state federation of Malaysia. It occupies the southern half of the Malay Peninsula and is separated from East Malaysia (on the island of Borneo) by the South China Sea.

THIS IS FUNNING:  How many cultures are there in Laos?