Frequent question: Is Java a city in Indonesia?

Is Jawa Barat a city?

West Java (Indonesian: Jawa Barat; Sundanese: ᮏᮝ ᮊᮥᮜᮧᮔ᮪ Jawa Kulon) is a province of Indonesia on the western part of the island of Java, with its provincial capital in Bandung.

Administrative divisions.

Name Cirebon City
Population 2005 Estimate 308,771
Population 2010 Census 296,389
Population 2020 Census 333,300

Why is Indonesia called Java?

It originated from Old Javanese and literally means “archipelago”. The name derived from the Old Javanese words of Sanskrit origin nusa (“island”) and antara (“in between”) or antero (“the whole of” or “the collection of”); the combined word therefore connotes “collection of islands” or “archipelago”.

Is Jawa Tengah a city?

Its administrative capital is Semarang.

Central Java.

Central Java Jawa Tengah (Indonesian) ꦗꦮꦠꦼꦔꦃ Jåwå Têngah (Javanese)
Established 19 August 1945
Capital and largest city Semarang

Is Jakarta in Java island?

listen)), officially the Special Capital Region of Jakarta (Indonesian: Daerah Khusus Ibukota Jakarta), is the capital and largest city of Indonesia. It lies on the northwest coast of Java (the world’s most populous island). Jakarta is the centre of the economy, culture and politics of Indonesia.

What is Indonesia capital city?

What are Indonesia’s three major cities?

Biggest Cities In Indonesia

Rank Biggest Cities in Indonesia Metro Population
1 Jakarta 30,214,303
2 Surabaya 7,302,283
3 Bandung 6,965,655
4 Medan 4,103,696
THIS IS FUNNING:  Where can I buy car park coupons in Singapore?

What are the 10 largest cities in Indonesia?

The 10 largest cities in Indonesia, with populations as of 2014, are:

  • Jakarta (Jakarta Province): 10.135 million.
  • Surabaya (East Java): 2.843 million.
  • Bandung (West Java): 2.575 million.
  • Medan (North Sumatra): 2.497 million.
  • Bekasi(West Java): 2.51 million.
  • Semarang (Central Java): 2.067 million.

What is the name of cities in Indonesia?

Cities proper by population

Rank Cities Province
1 East Jakarta Jakarta
2 Surabaya East Java
3 Bekasi West Java
4 Bandung West Java