How many Tambons are there in Thailand?

How many sub districts are there in Thailand?

Administrative areas

Thailand has an area of 513,120 square kms. In the year 2000, it had 76 provinces, 795 districts, 81 sub districts, 7,255 tambons, and 69,866 villages.

What is a tambon in Thailand?

bōn]) is a local governmental unit in Thailand. … Tambon is usually translated as “township” or “subdistrict” in English — the latter is the recommended translation, though also often used for king amphoe, the designation for a subdistrict acting as a branch (Thai: king) of the parent district.

What does Moo mean Thai?

Perhaps the most notable is the ‘Muban’ (หมู่บ้าน), also known as a ‘Moo’ (หมู่). This can be translated as village in English. They are the smallest division, and there are about 74,944 overall in the country.

Is sub district one word?

Since sub is a prefix, it must be connected to the word, at least by a hyphen. So sub district is out. … and Merriam-Webster have their entries without a hyphen (subdistrict).

What are the four main zones of Thailand?

Thailand is traditionally divided into 4 regions: North, Central, Isan (Eastern-Thailand), and Southern Thailand.

How is Bangkok divided?

Bangkok is divided into fifty districts (khet, equivalent to amphoe in the other provinces), which are further subdivided into 180 sub-districts (khwaeng, equivalent to tambon). Each district is managed by a district director appointed by the governor.

THIS IS FUNNING:  How much is 1kg gold in Singapore?